Technische Universität Dresden

Rainer Waser

Rainer Waser

Short Biography

Rainer Waser received his PhD in physical chemistry at the University of Darmstadt in 1984, and worked at the Philips Research Laboratory, Aachen, until he was appointed Professor at the faculty for Electrical Engineering and Information Technology of the RWTH Aachen University in 1992 and director of the Institute for Electronic Materials at the Forschungszentrum Jülich, in 1997. He is member of the Emerging Research Devices working group of the ITRS, and he has been collaborating with major semiconductor industries in Europe, the US, and the Far East. Since 2002, he has been the coordinator and spokesman of the research program on Nanoelectronic Systems in Information Technology within the Germany national research centres in the Helmholtz Association. In 2007, he has been co-founder of the Jülich-Aachen Research Alliance, section Fundamentals of Future Information Technology (JARA-FIT). Together with Professor Wuttig, he heads a collaborative research center on resistively switching chalcogenides for future electronics (SFB 917) which comprises of 14 institutes within JARA-FIT and has been funded by the German national science foundation (DFG) since 2011. In 2014, Rainer Waser received the Leibniz Prize of the DFG for his work on the phenomenon of redox-based resistive switching.

Education and Career


Studies of Chemistry (Field: Physical Chemistry)

Technische Universität Darmstadt


Diploma in Chemistry, Technische Hochschule Darmstadt, Germany, Institut für Physikalische Chemie (Prof. Dr. A. Weiss);

Topic: „Aufbau eines JFET-Oszillator-Detektors nach dem Prinzip von Pound und Knight als Kernquadrupolresonanz-Spektrometer“


  • Research stay abroad, University Southampton /Great Britain (Institute of Electrochemistry)


Scientific Assistant at the Institut für Physikalische Chemie, TH Darmstadt (Prof. Dr. K.G. Weil); Topic: „Studien zur Bildung Beweglichkeit von Oberflächenkomplexen an der Silber/Elektrolyt-Grenzfläche“.


Ph. D. defense (summa cum laude).


Scientist at the Philips Research Laboratories Aachen (research group Electronic Ceramics)


Full professor at the Institut für Werkstoffe der Elektrotechnik, Lehrstuhl II, Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology, RWTH Aachen


Director at the Institut für Festkörperforschung (now: Peter Grünberg Institute), Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany (as a supplement to the professorship at the RWTH Aachen)


Spokesman of the HGF-Research Programme Information Technology with Nanoelectronic Systems within the Helmholtz Association, Germany


Initiator of the Section “Fundamentals of Future Information Technology” of the Jülich-Aachen Research Alliance (JARA-FIT) between Forschungszentrum Jülich and RWTH Aachen University


Spokesman of the HGF-Research Programme Fundamentals of Future Information Technology (FIT) within the Helmholtz Association, Germany


Spokesman of the professors (Professorensprecher), Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology, RWTH Aachen

Awards and Honors


Carl-Wagner-Prize awarded by the Max-Planck-Institute for biophysical  Chemistry (Göttingen, Germany) for achievements in the field of  defect chemistry of protons in perovskites


John D. Moynihan Award from CARTS Europe; sponsored by the  International Electronic Components Institute


Edward C. Henry Award from the American Ceramic Society (jointly with T. Baiatu and K. H. Härdtl)


Ferroelectrics Recognition Award 2000 from the IEEE Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics and Frequency Control Society


Award of the International Symposium on Integrated Ferroelectrics (ISIF):

“Outstanding Achievements in the Field of Integrated Ferroelectrics”

2003 –

Working Group “Emerging Research Devices” der International Technology Roadmap for Semiconductors (ITRS)


Appointment as Adjunct Professor by the School of Electronics and Information Engineering of Xi´an Jiaotong University, China (2004 – 2008)


Admittance to the Akademie der Wissenschaften Nordrhein-Westfalen (Germany)


Masao Ikeda Award, Ikeda Memorial Foundation, Kyoto, Japan in recognition of “Excellent contribution to the characterization of ferroelectric thin films for non-volatile memory”


Gottfried-Wilhelm-Leibniz Prize 2014 awarded by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)


Tsungming Tu Award 2014 awarded by the Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST), Taiwan (award ceremony April 17th, 2015)


Doctor Honoris Causa of the Silesian University of Katowice, Poland


Doctor Honoris Causa of the Silesian University of Katowice, Poland


RWTH Fellow 2015 awarded by the RWTH Aachen University for outstanding research achievements contributed to the University within the framework of the Excellence Initiative


Member of the International Editorial Advisory Board of Wiley’s Journal Advanced Materials Technologies


W.R. Buessem Award awarded by the Center of Dielectrics & Piezoelectrics (CDP)

Publication Statistics

  • Number of publications: approx. 580
  • Sum of citations: approx. 19000
  • Citations per year (in 2014): approx. 2400
  • Average citation per paper: 32
  • H-Index (May 2014): 65

Book edition

Most relevant book:

“Nanoelectronics and Information Technology – Advanced Electronic Materials and Novel Devices”

Rainer Wasser (editor and author of the block instructions) 3rd, Completely Revised and Enlarged Edition, Wiley-VCH 1048 pages, full color